

LUDIS IUNGIT

## Panathlon International has elected its new President: Giorgio Chinellato.

The 51st Elective General Assembly of Panathlon International and the 22nd International Congress entitled 'Diversity, Equity and Inclusion in sports for women' took place on 14 and 15 June 2024 at the Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel, in Agrigento, the Italian cradle of classical Greek civilisation.

The Assembly proceedings were preceded by a welcome dinner at the 'Casa Barbadoro' restaurant in the Valley of the Temples. Participants were able to taste the history enclosed in the archaeological site through some typical dishes of Agrigento cuisine.

The Ordinary General Assembly was held on Friday, preceded by a minute's silence in memory of Eugenio Guglielmino. After the video greeting by IOC President Thomas Bach, the 130 voting Clubs approved the IC's Moral Report, the Secretary General's Organisational Report and the Treasurer's Economic and Financial Report on the final balance sheet. At the same time, the Erasmus SAMF project was presented by Fabio Figueiras and the PI Ambassadors Gwenda Stevens and Barbara Rossi. Following the IC's reasoned proposal regarding the amount of dues for the two years following the current one, a lively debate took place, which ended with the non-approval of the proposal. The work continued in the afternoon with the Round Table, which was very successful and well

attended. We will publish a special report.

Speakers were: Ekoh Karichma (FR-CMR) - Professional Handball Athlete, Raffaella Masciadri (I) -Athlete-President of the CONI Athletes Commission, Maria Luiza Souza Dias (BR) - ISCA Vice-President, Carla Spielmann (CH) - PI Expansion Commission Member, Giusy Versace (I) - Paralympic Athlete- in connection, Moderator; Antonio Bramante, Piermarco Zen-Ruffinen will draft the conclusions.

Friday ended with a Gala Dinner preceded by the Communication Award Ceremony, presented by Past President Giacomo Santini, during which the four winners received the prizes (consisting of a laptop) for their work.

Afterwards the collaboration agreement with the International Maxibasketball Federation was made official and was signed by its President Rubén Rodriguez Lamas, member of the Panathlon Club Buenos Aires. The Panathlon Club Agrigento signed the twinning with the Clubs of Imperia-Sanremo and Mestre.

During the evening there have been many moments of emotion and thanks addressed both by the President and the outgoing Board. Finally, Past President Pierre Zappelli received the Domenico Chiesa Award from the outgoing Board members, presented to him by Vice President of the Foundation Enrico Prandi.

On the morning of Saturday 15 June, the discussion was resumed on the approval of the budget for the biennium 2025/2026 (which had been suspended the previous day due to the protracted work).

## VILLA QUEIROLO

Cod. fisc. 80045290105 - P.IVA 02009860996





## PANATHLON INTERNATIONAL

The Assembly decided to postpone this item to a future Assembly, to be held online, to be convened by the new IB.

The General Elective Assembly saw the conclusion of the term of President Pierre Zappelli, who led the Movement for eight years.

The 184 voting Clubs expressed their preference following the presentation of three candidates: Giorgio Chinellato, Leno Chisci and Paul Standaert.

The first vote led to a runoff between Giorgio Chinellato and Paul Standaert and then to the election of the International President: the former International Board Member, Giorgio Chinellato won with 121 preferences.

The voting for the International Board members then took place, which was composed as follows: Carlos De Leon, Christian Garrabos, Fabiano Gerevini Stefano Giulieri, Luigi Innocenzi, Antonio Laganà, Gianpaolo Milan e Paolo Perin. After the first International Board meeting, the two Vice Presidents were elected: Stefano Giulieri - Deputy Vice President and Luigi Innocenzi - Vice President. Simona Callo was confirmed in the role of Secretary General.

Permanent members of the Auditors' Board were confirmed with the election of Giuseppe Ravasi, Andrea Sbardellati and Marino Albani, flanked by substitute members Nicola Fiore and Gabriela Loor Lopez.

The Constitution and Arbitration Board saw the confirmation of Sandro Carlo Fagiolino and Riccardo Galassi and the election of Rubén Rodriguez Lamas as full members. Substitute members: Franco Fähndrich and Adolfo Maiello.

To the newly elected members, warmest congratulations and best wishes for a good job!

Heartfelt thanks to the President of Agrigento Pasquale Mauro, to Past-President Gerlando Amato and to Governor Roberto Pregadio who provided invaluable assistance throughout the organisation of the events, to the members of the Verification of Credentials and to the Scrutineers who collaborated in the admission and counting of votes and to Marcello Tornatore of the Panathlon Club Caltanissetta as Secretary of the Assembly.

The events were held under the patronage of: Municipality of Agrigento, Sicily Region Department of Tourism, Sport and Entertainment, Regional Assembly of Sicily, Agrigento, Italian Capital of Culture 2025, Free Municipal Consortium of Agrigento, Chamber of Commerce Agrigento, The Valley of the Temples Park Agrigento, Fijet.



LUDIS IUNGIT